2015 Book Round-up

I love book recommendations. A book lover that I am can’t help but read the majority of the reviews that pop up on their timelines on various social media platforms, too. So, naturally, I read quite a few in the past couple of days, which gave me an idea to write a book-related post myself.

Not exactly a review though. I want to share the books I read last year and my brief opinion on  each of them. It’s not the list of my favourites but rather the ones I remember the most. Although this is not going to be a proper review of any of those books, you still might find something you like!

photocat

Each year I make New Year resolutions. Yes, I’m one of those people! Each year, among my resolutions occur one or two book-related ones, usually just setting a minimum number of books I want to read. Yet, in 2015, the only book-related goal was to read both fiction and non-fiction books.

I am happy to say I managed to do that although that meant reading a lot less books than any other year.

FICTION

fiction

  1. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

This is one of the books I remember the most, as I did honestly enjoy it the most, too. A mixture of drama, comedy and mystery combined with discussing normal every day issues in the life of the main characters absolutely excited me. It’s funny, catchy, and sometimes sad but this is exactly what makes it realistic. You can find my full review on this book here.

2.  The Cinderella Murder by M. H. Clark and A. Burke

The main aspect of the book that I liked was the complex crime mystery for each of us to solve. I had never guessed who the killer was before the author decided to reveal that at the end of the story, and I liked it. I can’t say this is my favourite book for one main reason: I am all about character development when I’m reading a story. Even though I can be excited by the plot twists, or amazed by an author’s choice of words, what I deeply care about is how the story reflects on, affects, and changes the characters. In The Cinderella Murder, however, I felt that there were too many characters that had little impact on the plot. I felt like I got to know something about each of them, but never enough to actually care about them.

Yet, it doesn’t change the fact that I enjoyed reading this book and playing a little detective while doing that!

3. Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

Here’s a little love on my book list. It’s a famous and cool contemporary novel focusing on relationships, love, and what comes with it. It doesn’t support the idea of the perfect and ideal love, which I really appreciate, but says there are the right people for each of us. It doesn’t talk about a man and a women created exactly for each other. Because everyone has their own story and experiences, and it takes a bit (or a lot) of effort to be able to enjoy that love between them. Although the man was stereotypically too sexy and the woman was stereotypically independent and feisty, their relationship is interesting to follow. Every romantic soul will enjoy it, promise!

Here’s a brief review for you, which was included in my May Favourites.

NON-FICTION

I was surprised by how well I did in my attempt to read non-fiction, too. Basically, the number of non-fiction books is bigger than the fiction ones. And I definitely felt it. That is, I missed fiction really bad. I missed feelings, emotions, real people, sometimes not so real and way too beautiful or idealistic worlds, too.

However, reading non-fiction has its own benefits if you choose what to read wisely. And I’ll know better this year.

non fiction

  1. There Was a Little Girl by Brooke Shields.

I was tempted to read it purely because it was on the list of New York Times best-sellers. It was interesting to follow Brooke’s path towards success, I guess. It was also really intriguing to find out about the relationship she had with her mother, which was extremely intense, and that alone is worth a book. Yet, I think it would be much more entertaining and meaningful to read for someone who actually grew up together with Brooke Shields, seeing her on their TV screen and admiring her as a celebrity all those years. For me, however, it was just a very impersonal story about someone’s path towards fame.

2. The One Minute Manager by K. Blanchard and S. Johnson

What a horrible waste of time. And it took more than a minute. Don’t get me wrong, the authors had a clever idea, which probably helped them develop their businesses in real life. It’s definitely useful to put it in a book and share your ideas/advice with others. Yet, this particular idea could’ve been put in a single sentence. And I read a book. Also, the form of storytelling chosen by the authors is just simply wrong.

3. On Writing by Stephen King

I don’t think I can tell anything more than it is already said about this book and Stephen King himself. The master of writing, a talented story-teller and a simply wise man sharing his tips on writing and his general views towards him as a writer, publishing industry and creativity. It’s definitely something everyone interested in writing should read.

4. Mindfulness Plain & Simple by Oli Doyle

So I got this book as a gift from one of my best friends because she thinks I worry a lot. I must admit I do but only because I’ve had way too many reasons to do that since I moved countries. What I will never admit, though, is that any self-help or personal development book is a good book. It did have a few nice practical advice but otherwise it’s just a few simple ideas described in a surprisingly huge number of words.

 

You can see that my list doesn’t include only my favourite books. I am a bit picky, I have to admit. However, when people say reading is good for you, they don’t mean only good books. Reading is great, period. Even if it helps you understand what you don’t like to read.

Yet, this is only my personal opinion and, as always, I would love to hear yours! Have you read any of these books? If not, what is the book you remember the most from what you read in 2015?

Amila ♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

